Sail's Pedagogy

Sail's posts about her class, classes she is taking, and education.

Blogging within an LMS is just wrong!!

on May 2, 2012

I should of know when I saw the word “blackboard”. I am participating in the new MOOC by Dr. Curtis Bonk on “Instructional Ideas and Technology Tools for Online Success

This is from the internal site.
“This is not right — blogging within an LMS. I would much prefer to blog on my own blog and then be able to subscribe (RSS) to some of the students. Obviously with so many, it would not be easy to do all, but being contained with this site defeats the purpose of blogging. So this post is also going to be on my own blog.

This is about my 10th MOOC, and I as very interested in how this was going to be presented. Most MOOC’s I am called a “lucker” because I do not choose to participate much in the “social” part. I read everything or watch the videos so I am getting something out of these classes. This is my choice usually or sometimes, it is just too overwhelming because of the number of students and the way forums and blogs like this are presented. I am having to agree with Lisa blog post on her own blog on “Leaving an open online class blogging within a closed system. ”


2 responses to “Blogging within an LMS is just wrong!!

  1. […] Dr. Bonk’s work with a focus on community, etc.) Bb is not network centric.” See also Sail’s Pedagogy, “blogging within an LMS is just wrong.” And Lisa Lane writes, in “Leaving an […]

  2. Linda,
    I can appreciate your concern when you are coming from other moocs like plenk or change11. I participated in the plenk2010 and sense the difference. I signed up for this course to see what a large course would be like in a more structured environment. It does have a more “course-like” feel to it,

    As I read through the blog posts from others (inside the course) I saw one that offers an interesting perspective that never occured to me. Blogging here is at least ohe person’s first time blogging and they appreciated that it was not going out to the whole world. Think a blog practice field with a protected environment.

    Best regards,
    Chris

Leave a comment